Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Possible vacuum issue?

Post Thanks / Like

Possible vacuum issue?

Hey guys, newbie here and first post (aside from my intro!). I own a 72 beetle, and have for about 5 months. While getting to know her and figuring out beetles, i had a sudden stop while driving where then, the engine would sputter and stall. i cleared the lines, fuel filter, and took it on myself to rebuild the carb. after much trial and error, i got her up and running again. since then, however. Ive had an issue with the engine stalling out after some time, or not starting on cold. through troubleshooting, on cold, it was lacking oxygen. after some time, its getting too much. adjusting the fuel mixture screw doesnt do much to help the balance. and while trying to adjust the idle screw, it bottoms out and does nothing. im at a loss, and am curious if anyone has had similar circumstances. Thanks for reading!
    Last edited by ApertureLab; 29-09-19 at 23:57.
    1972 Beetle 1.2, Petrol

Post Thanks / Like
    How do you know its a vacuum problem have you done tests?
    2010 Golf GTD (170) CBBB, 5 Door, Shadow Blue (P6/D5Q), Transmission Code: KXZ, Flat Tyre Indicator, Basic Protection Pack + VCDS.

Post Thanks / Like
    I havent done tests (dont know what tests i could do, honestly) and i only think it is, because of research ive done in the past. Different gorums and websites that list possible reasons for certain issues
    1972 Beetle 1.2, Petrol

Post Thanks / Like
    Do you know for sure it has a D code engine? If you could post a picture of the engine it would help as so many bugs have been bastardised.
    2003 Skoda Octavia VRS Estate. APR 98RON remap, APR R1 diverter valve, Jetex exhaust, K&N panel filter, 7.5x18 Alutec Monstr wheels with 225/40 18 Uniroyal Rainsport 3 tyres.
    2006 Polo GTI 1.8T, APR 95RON remap
    1988 Golf 2 GTI 16 valve, 2.2 with Weber Alpha injection
    1983 Golf 1 GTI 8 valve, 2 litre with Eurospec racing 42/36 head