Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: VCDS Cable + Battery Change.

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    84
    Post Thanks / Like

    VCDS Cable + Battery Change.

    Whilst considering battery change and having the ability to save Control Module setting using VCDS cable plus laptop, I wondered whether leaving laptop/ VCDS cable connected during battery replacement would maintain sufficient power to modules to save module memory settings.

    Any thoughts gratefully received.
    2013 Polo 6R Match Edition 1.2, CGPB, Petrol

  2. #2
    Administrator Keithuk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Stoke on Trent
    Posts
    15,957
    Post Thanks / Like
    Its not an easy question to answer.

    I replaced my battery earlier in the year. I checked the coding before I disconnected.

    https://forums.ross-tech.com/showthr...Battery-Coding



    https://www.volkswagenforum.co.uk/sh...t=33366&page=4 post #33
    2010 Golf GTD (170) CBBB, 5 Door, Shadow Blue (P6/D5Q), Transmission Code: KXZ, Flat Tyre Indicator, Basic Protection Pack + VCDS.


  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    84
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hi Keith, thanks for the link to battery coding.

    I'd not found any reference to using VCDS to save module memory but thought, as USB port has 5 volt output to charge tablets, phones, etc it might serve as memory saver.

    I feel an e-mail to Ross-Tech coming.

    Ross-Techs' reply says VCDS cannot power car when battery removed ... pity.
    Last edited by Brian7NS; 24-10-19 at 14:27. Reason: Add Ross-Tech reply.
    2013 Polo 6R Match Edition 1.2, CGPB, Petrol

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    84
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hi Keith.

    Video very informative however, I note from the introduction it relates to Battery Energy Management Systems.

    I've just attempt to follow video but my CAN protocol does change to UDS and not allow 'Adaptation' button selection as this is greyed out.

    Could it be that my cars' electrical system does not include Battery Energy Management System?
    2013 Polo 6R Match Edition 1.2, CGPB, Petrol

  5. #5
    Administrator Crasher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    24,003
    Post Thanks / Like
    No, you need a "memory saver"
    "I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it"

    Evelyn Beatrice Hall (28 September 1868 13 April 1956)

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    84
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hi Crasher,

    Am I correct in assuming your advice relates to my question regarding using VCDS as memory saver?

    Do you know if my car has 'Battery Energy Management System' and is the reason why Adaptation button is inactive?
    2013 Polo 6R Match Edition 1.2, CGPB, Petrol

  7. #7
    Administrator Crasher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    24,003
    Post Thanks / Like
    I would need your VIN and a full scan to see if it has energy management but you don't need to worry about the soft coding, just change the battery and if you use a memory saver . If you Google "memory saver" there are lots to choose from.
    "I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it"

    Evelyn Beatrice Hall (28 September 1868 13 April 1956)

  8. Thanks Brian7NS thanked for this post

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •