Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Swapped RNS 510 but has no sound or PDC

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    Worcestershire
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like

    Swapped RNS 510 but has no sound or PDC

    Hi,

    I recently purchased a 2010 Golf MK6 which hadn't been used for over 12 months so had a few issue. I managed to clean it up and got it through its MOT and now the only really issue with it is the headunit. Its an RNS 510, which didn't work, other than the lights on the buttons, so I've borrowed an RCD 510 from my nethew so at least I got radio whilst sorting a new RNS 510. Anyway, I've purchased another RNS 510 off ebay which is the exact same part number and built within a month of my original, so I thought it would be a simple swap. The new unit does work with radio, phone and sat nav etc but there is no sound at all coming out of it. Oh and the pdc doesn't work through it.


    I’ve done some searching and found out that it maybe because the previous car it came from has a Dynaudio sound system but my Golf only has the standard speakers. I mentioned this to the guy I bought the headunit from and he’s come back to me after speaking to a friend who has suggested that it could be component protection and that it would need coding. I don’t really want to pay VW mainly dealer prices to look at it and I’m guessing that I would need a VAG COM? I don’t really have a clue about electronics but happy to give it a go but don’t know what I need to buy. There seems to be lots of different leads on eBay so hoping someone could give me some advise on what to buy. Do the leads also come with the software needed to do the coding?

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    39
    Post Thanks / Like
    I have not seen an RNS510 that has component protection. They just use a code.

    There is a setting you can set in VCDS to enable or disable "sound system" which is VCDS (VAG-COM) speak for Dynaudio, but that would not disable sound, it just affects the output level (Dynaudio has an amplifier, so the sound system setting drops the output level from the head unit.). If it came from a car with Dynadio, it would thus have low volume.

    I suspect the PDC also also a coding issue, the replacement radio likely came from a car without PDC, so that needs to be set.

    Can't think of a reason why there is no sound at all however.
    2018 Passat B8 R-Line 2.0 162KW, Petrol

  3. Thanks 18ME thanked for this post
  4. #3
    Administrator Crasher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    23,662
    Post Thanks / Like
    You need to read off the soft coding from the old unit (if it will talk) and put this into the new one.
    "I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it"

    Evelyn Beatrice Hall (28 September 1868 13 April 1956)

  5. Thanks 18ME thanked for this post
  6. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    Worcestershire
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like
    No idea what soft coding is but the old unit was dead so can’t get anything from it unfortunately.

    Is VCDS the software and VAG-COM the physical cable?

    if I could get the correct one of these then I guess I could try and have a look what’s wrong with it, but I have no idea what I am looking for as there are loads of different ones on eBay.

  7. #5
    Administrator Keithuk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Stoke on Trent
    Posts
    15,680
    Post Thanks / Like
    As suggested: You need to get your motor scanned (preferably with VAG-COM\VCDS) for any error codes logged in the ecu and post them, that will save a lot of guessing and check systems out.

    I know the genuine cables aren't cheap but you can't make a silk purse out of a sows ear.

    Only genuine cables are talked about on here as the cheap Chinese cloned cable are Banned subjects
    2010 Golf GTD (170) CBBB, 5 Door, Shadow Blue (P6/D5Q), Transmission Code: KXZ, Flat Tyre Indicator, Basic Protection Pack + VCDS.


  8. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    Worcestershire
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Keithuk View Post
    As suggested: You need to get your motor scanned (preferably with VAG-COM\VCDS) for any error codes logged in the ecu and post them, that will save a lot of guessing and check systems out.

    I know the genuine cables aren't cheap but you can't make a silk purse out of a sows ear.

    Only genuine cables are talked about on here as the cheap Chinese cloned cable are Banned subjects
    Thanks for the heads up.

    So are the genuine ones not sold on eBay? But if they are what make do I look for and Is VCDS the software and VAG-COM the physical cable?

    If these are not available to buy privately do I need to go to a VW dealer / specialist?

    Apologies for what may seem dumb questions but I’ve had many Audi’s and VW’s in the past and seen many references to VAG COM in different forums over the years but never really needed/wanted to code anything before.
    2010 Golf Match 2.0 TDI-CR

  9. #7
    Administrator Crasher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    23,662
    Post Thanks / Like
    All those being sold a new on fleaBay are either illegal cracked versions or useless shareware versions. The only UK resellers of VCDS are

    http://www.gendan.co.uk

    https://www.ilexa.co.uk

    http://www.mi-uk.com

    http://www.diagnostic-equipment.co.uk
    "I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it"

    Evelyn Beatrice Hall (28 September 1868 13 April 1956)

  10. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    Worcestershire
    Posts
    10
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thanks for the links. So the make is Ross-Tech then? Is it wise to go for the 10 vin over the 3 vin for 75 difference? I read on one of the sites that you can upgrade from 3 to 10 and 10 to unlimited for $169 which I guess would be around 150.

    Are they fairly easy to use?
    2010 Golf Match 2.0 TDI-CR

  11. #9
    Administrator Crasher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    23,662
    Post Thanks / Like
    If you can afford it, go for the unlimited VIN and buy from Ilexa. The tool will last you for years and can earn you a few bob doing jobs. The software is fairly intuitive but will take some time to learn and you can really screw a car up with it if you are not careful.
    "I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it"

    Evelyn Beatrice Hall (28 September 1868 13 April 1956)

  12. #10
    Administrator Keithuk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Stoke on Trent
    Posts
    15,680
    Post Thanks / Like
    The software is free to download Current VCDS Release

    There is a PDF file you can save on the same page but its old and has never been updated since 2011.

    I've asked about that on the forum.

    If you buy the genuine cable and its registered you can post problem in a new thread. Ross-Tech forum

    I've joined the Ross-Tech forum when I had my USB-HEX-CAN cable in 2010, its been good.

    Now when I try to go on the forum with IE11 it shows an error.

    RC4 cipher is no longer supported in Internet Explorer 11 or Microsoft Edge

    I have to use the crappy Firefox to access the forum.

    I've posted a thread about this on the forum.

    Which web browser are you using 18ME?
    2010 Golf GTD (170) CBBB, 5 Door, Shadow Blue (P6/D5Q), Transmission Code: KXZ, Flat Tyre Indicator, Basic Protection Pack + VCDS.


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •