Adventures with the mk7.5 Infotainment System

lightbody

Hi,

As well as being a car-geek, I am also a tech-geek, and work in IT. I thought I would share my experience of fully learning the infotainment system in my 67 plate GTi, which I bought in November. I wanted to learn about the built-in technology as far as possible, rather than just using Android Auto / Apple Carplay, because there is some good functionality there that you lose if you just plug in your phone via App Connect. Also because of the Covid lockdown, the car is spending a lot of time sitting outside the front door, so there's been time to fiddle with it!

Car-Net & Car Stick - Previous owner had never activated this, but the subscription that comes new with the car ran out not long after I got it (at 3 years old). I bought a subscription from VW, and a genuine car stick from ebay, and a pre-paid SIM from Vodafone, and eventually got it all working nicely. I have News (8 RSS feeds), weather with forecasts, live traffic info, petrol prices and one of my favourite things - I can send a destination to the car from my phone, and its waiting for me when I start up.
Also the car can use the Carstick to create a mobile wifi hotspot which is nice, then you can use the Media Connect app on your phone to control the head unit. Very clever indeed.
Main annoyance with this whole setup is that the car only has one USB socket, which needs the carstick permanently in it. Also sometimes when you start the car up from cold, Car-net just doesn't work until you either reboot the head unit, or restart the car.