New member - Advice pls Reset / Program driver window. Golf Cabriolet 2012

marcelonezz

New member
Joined
Apr 16, 2020
Messages
12
Hi Guys,

Wonder if anyone can help. I done one terrible mistake while trying to grease (to remove a horrible squeak noise) the driver window on my 2012 Golf Cabriolet 1.4 TSI

I removed the panel and sprayed where I could and was still making noise, then I had the brilliant Idea of removing the motor and then pressed window the key (to see if the noise was coming from there) and it did spin like crazy losing its memory (creating a error code)

Now I lost the one touch feature on driver side and also, that window don't drop and raise that inch upon opening and closing the door (to go under the soft roof).
Every time now I have to turn off the car and go out on passenger side to not force the window under the roof.

Worth pointing that:
- Window does go up and down normally (just lost this auto drop and one touch)
- If I press and hold "unlock" on the key fob all 4 windows go down but if I press and hold "lock" only the other 3 does raise.

Took it to a garage the guy said that he couldn't erase the error code (motor wouldn't let him) and that I need a new motor that cost £300+

It seems a bit weird that this is the case, would the motor get damaged just by spinning 2-3 seconds without the resistance of the window?

Anyone have any idea?? now with this virus all Volkswagen shops are close, would only them be able to clear this code and reprogram?
Would maybe on removal of panel any cable got damaged? (just thinking if the single click or one touch has dedicated cable... just guessing):confused:

Please help
 

marcelonezz

New member
Joined
Apr 16, 2020
Messages
12
And I did try all combinations of press and hold 3sec, press and hold 15sec, press 3 times after complete up or down etc... I guess cabriolet is completely different, probably because of that little drop it has upon opening and closing the doors.
 

marcelonezz

New member
Joined
Apr 16, 2020
Messages
12
Hi Crasher,

Many thanks for your response. I apologise for creating 2 posts. I done one at the (Golf Cabriolet - (Type 51) 2012 - 2016) and it didn't came up ........and just then I realised that I should have done at New member - introduction first :(

Trying to be organised as possible I looked everywhere first and tried to post in correct place, still I done this mistake.

As administrator please feel free to delete one :)

R#
The garage guy didn't tell me what code was :( He just said that the "car" wouldn't let him erase the error so he couldn't fix it.... He told me I need to replace it :(

But I don't know... It can't be that sensitive, I don't really believe that it can get damaged just by spinning without resistance of the glass....:confused:

I guess maybe I should book with a electric guy? Could be his system?
 

Crasher

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 22, 2006
Messages
26,048
Location
Nottingham, England
I would start by finding a VW specialist who has VCDS, what you have done should not have upset it beyond a quick reset. Try disconnecting the battery overnight and then re-adapting it. I have had the occasional Golf 5 and 6 central convenience unit be stupid but this job is done by the door controller.
 

marcelonezz

New member
Joined
Apr 16, 2020
Messages
12
Thanks! I will give that a try and let you know. Wouldn't that affect any other things like other important memories? Is that safe to do?
 

marcelonezz

New member
Joined
Apr 16, 2020
Messages
12
Sure, but last car I had, when they changed the battery, the guy plugged one into the lighter to keep the power and removed after replacement was in place.
But if is safe to do I can give it a try.
Thanks
 

Crasher

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 22, 2006
Messages
26,048
Location
Nottingham, England
That's a memory saver, you need to reboot the car so saving the memories is no good. There are risks such as the throttle body acting up after but without your own diagnostic equipment and not being able to take it to a garage, there isn't anything else you can do.
 

marcelonezz

New member
Joined
Apr 16, 2020
Messages
12
Unfortunately all vw dealer service is closed (at least near me)

The garage as on 1st post said:
R#
The "car" wouldn't let him erase the error so he couldn't fix it.... He told me I need to replace it

I booked a guy to have a look this Monday (car electric specialist)

After the visit I update here as this could help others ;)

Thanks Crasher.
 

Keithuk

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 4, 2012
Messages
18,938
Location
Stoke on Trent UK
Welcome to the forum.
VWwelcome.gif


Its nice to see you made an intro on your own. ;)

You said you have had it scanned by a garage, which scanner did they use we need to know as the error code couldn't be erased?

You need to get your motor scanned (preferably with VAG-COM\VCDS) for any error codes logged in the ecu and post them, that will save a lot of guessing and check systems out.
 

marcelonezz

New member
Joined
Apr 16, 2020
Messages
12
Welcome to the forum.
VWwelcome.gif


Its nice to see you made an intro on your own. ;)

You said you have had it scanned by a garage, which scanner did they use we need to know as the error code couldn't be erased?

You need to get your motor scanned (preferably with VAG-COM\VCDS) for any error codes logged in the ecu and post them, that will save a lot of guessing and check systems out.


Thanks Keithuk,

I'm just a regular car owner but confess I'm starting to learn some stuff about it :D, I will ask them if they can share that info. (they prob will say no :???:)
If not, I will make sure to grab those info with the guy I booked for call-out next Monday.

He was a recommendation, I hope he can get it sorted.

He probably have VCDS. (on phone he said: "I have the volkswagen stuff" :confused:) I will ask him to send/tell me the codes or forward any report that he can get even if he get it sorted.
I guess, again, might be great help for others in future.

Many thanks
 

marcelonezz

New member
Joined
Apr 16, 2020
Messages
12
Welcome to the forum.
VWwelcome.gif


Its nice to see you made an intro on your own. ;)

You said you have had it scanned by a garage, which scanner did they use we need to know as the error code couldn't be erased?

You need to get your motor scanned (preferably with VAG-COM\VCDS) for any error codes logged in the ecu and post them, that will save a lot of guessing and check systems out.

They did reply!!

"Hi Marcelo

Sadly we do not keep that information to be honest. We did use VAG-COM/VCDS as this is the known preferred diagnostic equipment used on Volkswagens.

The code mentioned about thermoheating from memory but sadly that is from memory."

Not sure if that help.
 

Keithuk

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 4, 2012
Messages
18,938
Location
Stoke on Trent UK
They did reply!!

"Hi Marcelo

Sadly we do not keep that information to be honest. We did use VAG-COM/VCDS as this is the known preferred diagnostic equipment used on Volkswagens.

The code mentioned about thermoheating from memory but sadly that is from memory."

Not sure if that help.

Did you pay for the scan or was it free?

Any dealer diagnostic scan was around £70 you do get a printout of the results.

If it was a garage with VCDS they should printout the VCDS log file or if you have a flash drive ask them to stick in on there.
 

marcelonezz

New member
Joined
Apr 16, 2020
Messages
12
Hi Keithuk,

Wasn't free but I got mainly other things done at same time. So wasn't taken just for that.
But that's the only thing that they couldn't get it fixed.

:(

Did you pay for the scan or was it free?

Any dealer diagnostic scan was around £70 you do get a printout of the results.

If it was a garage with VCDS they should printout the VCDS log file or if you have a flash drive ask them to stick in on there.
 

Crasher

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 22, 2006
Messages
26,048
Location
Nottingham, England
Just serviced a Golf 4 and noticed the one shot close on the drivers door would not work but the passengers was OK, no amount of trying would make it go up on one press but down was fine?
 

marcelonezz

New member
Joined
Apr 16, 2020
Messages
12
Just serviced a Golf 4 and noticed the one shot close on the drivers door would not work but the passengers was OK, no amount of trying would make it go up on one press but down was fine?

Trying to edit I ended up deleting the reply :oops:.

hmmm.... you mean the 1st step of the switch? before the 2nd click (one touch)?

Now that you mentioned that, I dunno if is the wear of the driver side switch but it does seems less sensible than the other switches on pushing, I'm not really sure if the window drop on 1st click, 2nd or in between. (pulling/closing is fine and looks same as others).

Does that ring a bell? Could (if there's one) any cable, that do that first click, be forced while I remove the door panel? :confused: Just guessing if is like 2 cables to go up and 2 to go down (for single touch and one touch)

Thanks again (sorry for re-replying, I tried to edit on the phone, because of a typo and the 1st reply got deleted)
 

SlipDiff

New member
Joined
May 22, 2011
Messages
55
Location
Hertford, UK
Have you tried holding the switch 'up' when the windows in the fully up position?
This is common to allow the ECU to take an amp-draw reading on the motor (which indicates the end of travel).and learn the end points of travel (so that anti-pinch works correctly).
I don't know 100% if 2012 VW windows work in this way but it's a common way for the ecu's to work.

Just thought it's worth a shot...

p.s. You possibly could 'damage' a motor by running it without the resistance of the driving the mechanism. Amp draw could've been too high (but i'd be disappointed if VW specced quite such a fragile system) or if there's an integrated ecu module in the mechanism (it's possible - the driver window ecu is commonly a 'master' ecu for the other 'slave' window mechanisms on a LIN network) you might have fraggled it out by running the motor for a couple seconds. There may even be a position sensor fitted...

p.p.s squeaky runners call for furniture polish (beeswax) or silicone lubricant.
 

marcelonezz

New member
Joined
Apr 16, 2020
Messages
12
Hi All!!

Guy just left now. (Charged £60 exc. Vat callout fee)

He also said he never saw such a thing as usually the window learn itself once you do the commands (up and down). He scanned the passenger side and said that it was showing as "window stop leaned" (if I got it right) and on driver side was showing as not learned.

He mentioned also that he "plugged the proper volkswagen machine" up, raise the window Up and done "learn" and then down "learn" and voila! all back to normal.

Conclusion is that Cabriolet is completely different system than the other Golfs (probably because of that little drop it does upon opening and closing the door) and that it learn via PC and not via switch (which could be a pain if goes again but same time that makes harder to "unlearn"?) either way, such a relief that this is sorted!

I hope this post can help others in the future,
Well I learned my lesson: not to mess with things you don't know nothing about

Thanks again guys!
Keep safe
 
Top